What’s Your WORST habit?

First we form habits, then they form us.

Conquer your bad habits or they will conquer you.

Rob Gilbert

2009 is around the corner and I’m taking stock.

Habits…the things you do daily, define who you are today and tomorrow.

So I was thinking of success habits, the ones I love and the ones I loathe.   (not too smart to loathe any habit – NOT a strategy for efficient replacement!)

But still I was thinking, and I wondered about that question: “what’s the one thing you can do to change your life the most?” Change your life for the better that is.

That led to “WHAT needs to change the most?”  Subtle difference.  But important.

I think my worst habit is falling asleep with the TV on.  That gets in the way of EVERYTHING to do with the next day, waking up before the house, prayer and meditation, good restful sleep and dreams, productivity.  My children’s day.   It affects EVERYTHING.

Bad habits are like anchor stores in the mall.  A bad anchor – low sales and traffic, spells disaster for the rest of the businesses in the mall.

Now, I’ve managed to NOT let it affect everything.  But the energy it takes to keep things on a powerful tract is significant.

That energy could be directed towards creative juices needed to solve daily challenges – faster and kinder. I can use that energy to produce more quality writings, workshops and solutions.

Energy is not limitless.   Like money, we have to be smart about how we spend it.

So that’s the habit I’m changing.  It’ll be replaced with a powerful success habit of READING my self to sleep.

How about you?  Is your anchor habit powerful and leading you to success, or not?  Which of your ‘bad’ habits is the worst?  And what would you replace it with?

The best way to articulate a statement of change is not simply…I’m going to stop such and such.   It’s always best stated in the positive.

So instead of “I’m going to stop falling asleep to the TV” my statement is this:  “I’m going to  create a powerful new success habit of reading myself to sleep.”  Now in order to do this, I will HAVE to take off the TV and get into my reading chair.

Have you thought yet about the habit that is holding you back the most?  What’s stopping your breakthrough? And what can you start doing instead?

How will your life be changed if you did this?   Who will benefit? What are the benefits? Hmmmm…. 🙂

Let me know your thoughts on this post…leave a comment here and you can also find me on Twitter.

Wishing you abundant success,

Julette

♥♥♥

Leave a Reply

