You’re Perfect, So Why Are You Creating New Success Habits?


Powerful Habits in 21 Days  – PH 21

Day # 6

“Do you know that you are already perfect?”

“Well, no, I don’t think so…wouldn’t that be why I’m going through all this trouble creating a new habit…BECAUSE I’m NOT perfect?”

“No, you have chosen to engage in this process BECAUSE you are already perfect.”

This might sound like a contradiction, but it’s not.

I submit further, that you have to see yourself as perfect just they way you are, without your new success habit – bad habit and all, IF you are to be successful in creating your new powerful habit.

Here’s my thinking.  I define perfection as the PROCESS of becoming perfect.  It’s not a destination.  It’s a process that is ever evolving based on the lessons we choose to learn, and when we choose to learn them.

Once you make a decision to improve some aspect of your self, and you commit to that process, you have stepped into the process of perfection.

Perfection is a process.  It’s a dynamic, organic process not a static destination.

How does this belief – that you are already perfect – help you to succeed in creating new and powerful habits?
Let’s state the facts one at a time:

  • Creating a new habit takes work, a lot of work, commitment and discipline
  • Breaking an old habit is challenging even with a plan! (you’re working with emotional, psychological, neurological and sometimes even chemical dependencies)
  • Approaching any undertaking from a position of strength and power is ALWAYS best, if you want to succeed at the highest level
  • Humans thrive on love
  • Self- love is empowering: Completely loving and accepting the essence and wholeness of who you are (not the “good” and “bad” parts of yourself) gives you the self-confidence to take on ANY project or challenge
  • Unconditional self-love, just like unconditional love for others is most empowering

Loving yourself unconditionally means not only that you love EVERY aspect of yourself, it also means that you love the real essence of your being.  Not your habits, your things, your personality or even your thoughts, values and beliefs…but instead, the essence of who you are.

What is your essence? Is there one word to describe your essence?

You can’t wait to achieve your goal of creating this new habit or breaking that ‘bad’ one to unconditionally love and accept yourself because you will be running in circles, always finding something else to work on and perfect.  (actually the very act of waiting is conditional!)

If you see yourself as perfect today, right now, in this moment you will provide yourself with a mindset of success and personal power that will make creating a new habit a more fun undertaking.

Before you can have the emotional and psychological power to take on the challenge of creating a new habit, you have to completely accept and love that perfect you that lies within.  It’s from that place of inner strength and love that you will find the personal power to meet the challenges of behavior change.

And this is no mere mind game being suggested.  The fact is you are perfect.  You’re voluntarily involved in a self-improvement process here with our Success Habits in 21 Days program (online with a bunch of ‘used to be’ strangers!) For goodness sake, how much more of a statement of perfecting do you need?.

So back to that simple question…What is the essence of ‘you?’  Strip away all of your roles and titles and all the ways the world would define you, how would you define your essence?

Isn’t it perfection?

2 Responses

  1. Hello!

    I see my essence as love. By seeing myself as essentially an expression of God’s love, I give myself the gift of consistent personal power. Of course being human (and still perfect :-)) I sometimes stray from this place of power.

    I do sometimes forget or ignore my essence. But I know what it is though, I always come back. I know my source and I find it, even in the dark.

    By seeing myself as love I also have a way of consistently connecting with people.
    I have something to give: since love is my essence I can give it freely and never run out! 🙂

    This works for me, what works for you?

  2. My intuition is to accept these words because they make wonderful sense, but it’s a challenge to think of myself as perfect while attempting to break a habit. I mean, why would a perfect person even have a habit?!? Not to mention this weekend I felt particularly imperfect. Thank goodness I was reminded of something my pastor said during a sermon: “God doesn’t make junk and he doesn’t practice.” I suppose since I choose to believe I was created in the image of God, I can also accept that I am prefect as long as I continue to try to perfect myself. Seems like a contradiction but at the same time very logical and reasonable.

    Thanks Julette – very thought provoking.

Leave a Reply

